43 Students Graduate from Eastern Shore Chamber’s Youth Leadership Program

SPANISH FORT, Ala. (February 26, 2018) - Forty-three local sophomores, juniors & seniors are graduating from the Eastern Shore Chamber’s Youth Leadership Program, an intensive seven-month program designed to build leadership skills & community awareness.

Throughout the program, students explore topics including law and government, business smarts, health and human services and the environment. Other activities include retreats and community service hours.

They also work as teams to develop small group projects that address key issues they identify in the community which they presented during graduation. One group tackled community relations by forming a club that pairs high school students with intermediate aged students to serve as mentors. Another group is battling teenage dating violence by creating an Instagram page focused on empowerment and self-worth. Another group took their environmental project to the Fairhope Rotary Youth Club where they worked with the established gardening club to teach 4th graders about the environment with hands-on projects. Others worked to form a website that would make internships, volunteer positions & job opportunities available to all Baldwin County students in one location.

Students in the program select one individual student who stands out as someone who showed great involvement & interest throughout the program. The 2018 winner of the Spirit of Youth Leadership Award goes to Erin Casolaro.

The Eastern Shore Chamber of Commerce would like to congratulate the 2018 class for their achievements:

Peyton Aiken
Lucy Barnes
Bayleigh Blackard
Erin Casolaro
Bo Coleman
Laurel Cunningham
Caroline Davis
Mac Douglas
Aubrey Engeriser
Gabby Farnell
Emma Marie Fisher
Shania Franks
Lawson Hellmich
Paige Jackson
Sam Jaquess
Peterson Jones
Sam Koby
Abigail Macaro
A.J. Mighty
Madelyn Mixson
Kelly Montgomery
Jake Newsome
Kate Nobles
Nicholas Peckey
Jessie Peterson
Cairo Plauche
Kalin Powell
Lily Radcliff
Hunter Sessions
Braxton Stacey
Emma Stanley
Marshall Stein
Mary Katherine Stewart
Mae Taul
Elise Taylor
Nich Thompson
Anna Turner
Emily Vincent
Terrance Watts
Alanna Weist
Kali Wilbourn
Sadie Wright
Andrew Yingst

The Eastern Shore Chamber would like to thank Youth Leadership’s presenting sponsor, Daphne Utilities for making this program possible. We’d also like to thank all the in-kind sponsors who have assisted with this year’s program: Bayside Academy, Daphne High School, Fairhope High School, Spanish Fort High School, City of Daphne, City of Fairhope, City of Spanish Fort, Mr. Steve Day, Evann Thompson, Hartmann, Blackmon & Kilgore, P.C., Blakeley State Park, Baldwin County Commissioners, Sheriff Huey Hoss Mac, The Fuse Project, Ronald McDonald House, Cliff McCollum, Gulf Coast Media, Victory Teaching Farm, Rob McElroy, Special Agent Mary Anne Flippo, FBI, Holly Johnson, Owner Chick-Fil-A, Mary Beth Greene, mb greene bags, Taylor Lewis and Sarah Grube, JJPR, Rich Rammel and Mignon Bishop, Thomas Hospital, Phelps Dunbar LLP, Prodisee Pantry, Marina Simpson, Goodwill Industries, The Brennity of Fairhope, 5 Rivers Delta Center, Trustmark Bank, Chick-Fil-A (Daphne), Chicken Salad Chick and Buffalo Rock Bottling.

The Chamber would also like to thank committee members Diane Anderson, Loni Jarman, Tiffany Slater, Terri Kinsey, Sarah Grube, Kiel Rubio and Steve Day for their countless volunteer hours.

Applications for the 2018/2019 Youth Leadership Program are now available at www.eschamber.com. You can also click here to download the application. Rising sophomores, juniors and seniors who live or go to school in Baldwin County are welcome to apply by returning the application to the Eastern Shore Chamber of Commerce at 327 Fairhope Avenue, Fairhope, AL 36532 or emailing it to office@eschamber.com.

More Questions?

Didn't find what you are looking for? Contact us for more information.