42 Students Graduate from Eastern Shore Chamber’s Youth Leadership Program

SPANISH FORT, Ala. (February 25, 2019) – Forty-two local sophomores, juniors & seniors are graduating from the Eastern Shore Chamber’s Youth Leadership Program, an intensive seven-month program designed to develop and expand leadership skills by empowering students through seminars, workshops, hands-on activities, team building, community engagement and introductions to community leaders.

Students received their graduation certificates Monday, February 17, 2020 at the 5 Rivers Delta Resource Center.

Throughout the program, students explore topics including law and government, business smarts, health and human services and the environment. Other activities include retreats and community service hours. 

Students work as teams to develop small group projects that address key issues, they identify in the community which they presented during graduation. Just a few of the project included creating a voters guide for new voters on how the process works and highlight the candidates running for office, creating a community-wide calendar app that includes all public events throughout Baldwin County, and implementing an easy to understand color code system to sort recyclables. 

Students in the program select one individual student who stands out by showcasing the qualities of a leader throughout the program. The 2020 winner of the Spirit of Youth Leadership Award goes to Spanish Fort High School Junior Jack Steudle. He won a $500 scholarship for being recognized with the Spirit of Youth Leadership Award.

The Eastern ShoreChamber of Commerce would like to congratulate the 2020 class for their achievements:

Sophie Barkan

Kate Bezeredi

Riley Chapman

Katherine Clemons

Alex Cook

Annalyn Duke

Brooke Duplantier

Lexi Floyd

Trey Hawkins

David Head

Sara Beth Hill

Ellis Hope

Audrey Hudson

Sophie Jernigan

Steadman Jones

Sophia Larez

Haley McClusky

Pete McGriff

Galey McKelvain

Henry McMurphy

Rollins McPherson

Siyona Mistry

Martha Grace Mixson

Nolan Myers

Margaret Nobles

John O’Hara

Rafael Olivier

Heli Parekh


Ty Pridgen

Crystal Reynolds

Jordan Sampson

Brinda Shukla

Ollie Sinclair

Luke Sotelo

Jack Steudle

Hannah Vincent

Harper Walker

Walker Watson

Lauren West

Ty Williams

Ellis Witherington

Alexa Espinosa - Yanez


The Eastern Shore Chamber would like to thank the Chamber Foundation’s Workforce Sponsor, Daphne Utilities, Graduation Sponsor Riviera Utilities, and Program Sponsors Bayside Academy, Baldwin County Board of Education and Hot Wheel’s Skate Center. 

We also appreciate the committee members who make this program possible: Chairman Diane Anderson – Avizo, Taylor Strunk – Baldwin EMC, Samantha Coppels – Daphne Utilities, Lisa Hastings – Bryant Bank, Loni Jarman – Member at Large, Terri Kinsey – Member at Large, Steve Day – Daphne United Methodist Church and Chase Schmidt – Community Bank.

Applications for the 2020/2021 Youth Leadership Program are now available to download at http://bit.ly/2020YLApplication

Rising sophomores, juniors and seniors who live or go to school in Baldwin County are welcome to apply by returning the application to the Eastern Shore Chamber of Commerce at 327 Fairhope Avenue, Fairhope, AL 36532 by March 20, 2020.

More Questions?

Didn't find what you are looking for? Contact us for more information.